About us

We've been in business since 1967

The organization formed in October 10, 1967, under the name of SWLA Legal Services Society Inc. At that time, this was the first legal services provider in Louisiana. The original incorporators included: R. W. Farrar, Jr.; A. Lane Plauche; Fred H. Sievert, Jr.; Warren E. Hood; William L. McLeod, Jr.; and A.J. Planchard. Three of the original members became judges and two became heads of major law firms.

Board Members

Ms. Ashley Forman, Chair

Retail Banking Center Manager, AVP

MidSouth Bank

Ms. Corlissa Hoffoss



Mr. George Taylor, Vice Chair

Retired Operator PPG Industries

Community Volunteer

Mr. Williams Jens

Professor of Accounting

McNeese State University

Mr. Michael E. Roach, Secretary-Treasurer

Attorney-at-Law, CPA

Mr. Adam Johnson


Johnson & Vercher

Mr. Damon Beard


Townsley Law Firm

Mr. Vincent Lupo

Retired Journalist

Lake Charles American Press

Mr. Jonathan Conrad

Financial Advisor

Northwestern Mutual

Mr. Lanny Roy

Long-Time Community Activist

Louisiana State President

A Community Voice

Mr. Peter Gover

Assistant Controller

First Federal Bank

Mr. Charles St. Dizier



Ms. Susan Henning


Former Assistant District Attorney

Ms. Shayna Sonnier


Hunter, Hunter & Sonnier, LLC